The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 4

October 31, 2011 § 4 Comments

Today we’re assembling the shirt body, aka Steps 9-13.

When you begin sewing the sides to the fronts, take your time and you’ll be very happy with the results. Below you can see one front piece stitched to one side piece and the other two waiting for me to take this picture.

This is known as Step 9. Don’t skip the topstitching. It is not only a beautiful finishing touch, it also keeps the seam allowances from moving.

Step 11 all pinned up. What you see below is the back panel pinned to both of the side panels. I like pinning as much as possible so that I can then just sit at the sewing machine and stitch away.

The seams finished with my serger.

I topstitched everything at 1/8″ instead of the 1/4″ stated in the directions, mostly out of habit. There are certain things I can’t control, like the 1cm seam allowances I tend to do without thinking. Another reason I like these patterns. All the seam allowances are 3/8″, instead of the larger 5/8″ you see in pattern from the big four. (3/8th is very close to 1cm)

My mom learned how to sew in Colombia when we were little so everything she learned is in centimeters. She’s from the States but get her talking about hems and seam allowances and she switches immediately to Spanish.

All pressed and ready for the closure strips to sew on.

On to the closures. If you’ve got a directional pattern, make sure that you’ve prepped the closure strips correctly. This is Step 13. The diagram in the directions is very helpful.

Here I’ve folded the closure strip around to the front and topstitched it down.

I feel the need to apologize for not adding more notes and comments. The directions are so clear to me. That said, I’m a very visual person and I know how much I appreciate seeing the process photos of something I’m trying to make. I hope this sew along is helping even just one of you out there.

We’re doing it! We’re so close. From what I’ve noticed in my own sewing, you can build a lot of skill when you take your time. You see how a lot of my pictures are taken on the ironing board. Sewing really doesn’t mean sewing. It also means a lot of ironing. The more you embrace the ironing, for one, the more you might enjoy your final product.

I also recommend that you embrace topstitching. It not only makes your work look top notch, it also helps keep seams in place. It’s crisp even after a wash.

Come back tomorrow for the yoke/sleeve portion.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 4

  • Krista says:

    Looks really good! I think it’s quite clear, too. But I manage to find ways to make it difficult for myself. I think I’m using all the wrong seam allowances. Whoops! I am always careless with my seam allowances. Grrr.

  • 5currantbuns says:

    I’ve been having so (sew) much fun sewing away at this shirt following the directions and your lovely photographs…and then I realised it was time to stop as I’d just sewn the wrong side of the back to the right side of the side panels… fortunately I can fix it by just reversing the pleat on the back…but I think that’s for tomorrow…I’m a big believer in “when you start making mistakes then it’s the world telling you to stop” !

    Thank you for this sew a long

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 4 at bilingual baby.

meta

