The Henry Shirt Sew Along- Day 1

October 28, 2011 § 8 Comments

Welcome! If you’re new to my blog, please get ready. We’re gonna have fun. Don’t forget to leave your blog URL in the comments if you want me to link you up. That way, others who may come in later, can see what we’ve all been working on. When we’re all done, I’ll post pictures of our finished Henry Shirts! Also, please visit TharSheSews, as Krista and I are doing this Sew Along together. She’s blogging from her end and I, from mine.

We’re going to be working from the recently published Sewing for Boys book. These patterns are really, really cute. Let’s start with the Henry Shirt. I’ll start by talking about supplies:

You’ll need:

  • Main Fabric and Contrasting Fabric (check size for yardage)
  • Coordinating Thread
  • 5 snaps or buttons (I’m going to use snaps)
  • Point turner
  • Fusible lightweight interfacing (I’m using non-fusible)
  • Double-sided basting tape (optional)

Recommended Fabrics:

Linen/cotton blend, shot cotton, soft old sheets, quilting cotton, baby wale corduroy, shirting.

I’m going with a combination of a brown linen/cotton blend for the Main Fabric and a Presidents quilting cotton for the Coordinating Fabric (my hubby is a Prez nerd and I think he’ll get a kick out of it).

Don’t skip this next step: Wash and dry your fabrics and your interfacing. Press your fabrics. Don’t press your fusible interfacing.

I’m still learning about fabrics and drape and all that so my advice on this topic is limited. It’s always recommended to hold your fabric and see how it falls from your hand. Scrunch it up to see how it handles wrinkling. You really just want something with not too much drape.

Any other tips on choosing fabric? Leave them in the comments.

A little talk about fit

Before choosing the size of the pattern to cut out, check the measurements of your child (more likely, another shirt that is of similar fabric, that fits with room to grow). Then, go to the book and choose the pattern that more closely resembles the shirt you’re measuring. Or if you’re making a shirt for a couple of seasons in the future, you can probably just go with the next size up.

I’m going with the size 2/3 but I’ll be making one modification.

If you follow my other blog, The Three Dresses Project, in some ways the big sister blog to bilingual baby, you know I’m always working on fitting patterns. While I have to say that sewing for my kids provides stress-free sewing and I get to spend more time on different techniques, I still take into consideration that my daughter has legs up to her chin and my son has the longest torso since Plastic Man, which affects pant rise and shirt lengths.

I took one of the shirts that fits him (with a bit of length to grow) and placed it on top of the pattern to see how it measured up. The shirt I used is a size 4T. I’m always amazed that it fits my son so well, since he just turned 3 at the end of August. What I found was that I wanted to add 2″ to the length of my Henry Shirt. I added it to the back, front, side, and closure strip.

But, hey, I’m getting into tomorrow’s territory, Cutting!

Make sure you wash and iron your fabric. You really don’t want to have your finished garment shrink.

Who’s sewing along?

Karen at Patterns by Figgy’s (yes, this is one of the designers from Sewing for Boys)

Krista at TharSheSews

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to The Henry Shirt Sew Along- Day 1

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Henry Shirt Sew Along- Day 1 at bilingual baby.

meta

