Muslin City, First Stop: The boy

September 15, 2011 § 2 Comments

On sale for $10 at the time of this writing.

My mom got me this book for Ayyam-i-Ha this year (a Baha’i celebration) and I was so excited to get it. My mom knows me. She knows that I’d rather get sewing books, patterns and fabric than anything else. She really does know how to keep me busy. hehe

I made the dungarees from this book for the boy but they ended up being a little too small so I’m giving them away as a gift (mental note: send them to your friend, Leila)

Cutest Print!

I knew I had to make something else from this book. I mean, honestly, I could make everything and go back for a second helping of cuteness.

But moving on to my recent sewing. I worked a muslin (remember, this is the trial run of the final garment- it’s meant to be made to practice any new techniques you don’t know, assess any problems in the pattern or the instructions, clarify your preferences when they differ from the pattern and the directions, etc). But I have to say, I’ve never been so excited about a muslin before. Even Josh got excited about it when he saw it.

I also have to preface with the fact that when I make muslins I try to use thread that I can find easily should I need to rip out any stitches, and a lot of time I use bobbins with thread left over from other projects. In other words, you can see the thread.

When this shirt, the pintuck shirt, is done, the boy gets to wear it at our cousin’s wedding in October. We already bought him some pants and I think this shirt is going to go really well with them. Drum roll:

From
From Sewing
From Sewing

Since my model wasn’t available, I had to use his sister, who was pretty excited to put on the “practice shirt”. The boy put it on later but there is no proof.

I’m so excited to get this shirt going on the fashion fabric. It’s white and is drapier than the muslin so it’s gonna work out really well. Isn’t the mandarin collar adorable??

Ooh! I didn’t even show you the sleeve placket! The directions in the book aren’t that easy to follow but this video made the whole thing doable.

Next, I’m working on another dress muslin.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Muslin City, First Stop: The boy

  • pnctink says:

    I love it!!! Can’t wait to see the final product!

  • attachlings says:

    I kept looking at the photo thinking ‘Wow! M looks ALOT like J!” Lol..now I know why.

    The shirt is astounding! I love reading about your sewing adventures — the passion you express is just like what I feel about knitting. Joy. 😀

    Mary

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Muslin City, First Stop: The boy at bilingual baby.

meta

