Finished Buttercup Bag

May 12, 2011 § 4 Comments

I made a Buttercup Bag for my mother in law for Mother’s Day. You can find a free tutorial here on Rae’s Made by Rae site (I love this woman!) and get inspiration from the Flickr pool for Buttercup Bags all over the world.

The directions are super clear and making just one bag doesn’t seem right. They are just so cute. What some savvy folks have also done is enlarge the pattern to make it more of a tote instead of a small handbag.

My bag actually sat around for a week, looking rather bare on the outside.

This is when I remembered how I work with sewing projects. I sometimes just need to stare at the project until inspiration comes to me.

I stared and thought about this bag, and the recipient, for a long while. Then, it dawned on me… A fabric flower!

I searched and searched for the look I was going after (I love the lush feel of these fabric flowers) and found a tutorial that I tried and modified until I got the look  I wanted.

And the final product:

More Made-by-Rae love: She offers more free tutorials for some cute things. Check them on the left column of her blog. She also sells patterns, so check those out, too.

Disclaimer: I have not been paid to say any of the things I’ve said above. I have written them of my own volition. (I’m getting a more hard core disclaimer for my blog soon.)

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Finished Buttercup Bag

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finished Buttercup Bag at bilingual baby.

meta

