Finished Dungarees

May 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s fun trying to take pictures of something I’ve made for my kids to wear.

I played with using snaps for the first time. The place where the snaps are has interfacing so that the fabric won’t collapse when the snaps are used. Next time, should I use a summer cotton like this one, I’d do better to interface the whole bib. It would be important to interface it with something that breathes.

I used the pattern for Dungarees from Sewn with Love by Fiona Bell.  I’m loving her patterns. In case you haven’t seen this pattern, it’s done up with a heavier weight fabric- a corduroy.

Some changes I made:

1. I omitted the crotch snaps cos my boy doesn’t wear diapers.

2. I applied snaps instead of buttons for the shoulder straps.

3. I have a serger so I could’ve serged the raw edges but since I’ve been doing flat felled seams lately, I did that without thinking.

Next

I want to make the pintuck shirt and I’m just dying to learn how to make the handkerchief-sleeve dress. Vintage yummy.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finished Dungarees at bilingual baby.

meta

