Pattern Review: Best Worn Barefoot Apron

May 5, 2011 § 8 Comments

In my previous post, I declared a 3 point sewing to-do list comprised of the following:

  1. Finish dungarees
  2. Finish Buttercup Bag (outer details)
  3. Sew up LBD #2 and check fit

I finished the dungarees, though they ended up being too small for my boy; I found the perfect outer details for my first Buttercup Bag and only as of this week have I had the super sewing powers to plow through an uncomfortable portion of my LBD #2 fitting.

But today, I bring you another project that was actually on my mental to-do list but somehow didn’t make the list I told you about.

This post is all about an apron. Believe it or not, my first apron, actually.

I bought this fabric in Vermont before we moved and I loved it but didn’t have a project for it, until this apron. The pattern calls for a full yard and that’s exactly what I had. Purrrfect.

How did I land on this apron pattern? Well, I started asking around and Jodi from the Sewfearless blog suggested using her pattern. It’s simple but she adds wonderful details to it to give it a finished look. I believe it’s intended to be a beginner pattern- but there are aspects that will need some sewing know-how, or at least some patience.

Jodi has added beautiful details and sewing techniques to help me  make an apron I’m truly proud of. You can tell she really thought through all the steps and all the details. (This shows how much I fly by the seat of my pants when sewing.)

Speaking of steps. There are 50 steps! At first, I was overwhelmed by such a large number of steps but what I found when sewing up the apron I realized that Jodi was making sure she didn’t leave anyone behind. A lot of patterns, combine 3 of Jodi’s steps into one and don’t show as many photos, making this apron pattern a really great pattern for those of us visual learners. It’s also helpful to have all the steps spelled out.

The one step that wasn’t as clear for me visually was step 42, where you tuck the strap into the bodice before turning everything right sides out. Part of my confusion was the photo and part is because I’m easily confused by written instructions. You can imagine I never did well with word problems in math.

Others may find it very easy. Depends on you. Just read through the whole pattern first, before starting. The pictures following step 42 help you figure out what you’re supposed to do.

The only other thing I would tweak would be for a bigger pocket. Not huge but mine came out pretty tiny for my hands. But again, it might just be me. A friend of mine thought the burgundy pockets were the top of the pocket and figured that the pockets were made of the same forks and spoons fabric. I like that idea!

Onto the aesthetics of Jodi’s patterns. Jodi has created what I think is a one of a kind pattern look. Her patterns look like a comic book, which I like. Here’s her sample page from her blog, used here with permission.

The pattern download comes in a high quality and lower quality formats, for people like me who have computers so old they still use floppys.

I’ve been wearing it all week. Early in the week, I used it while helping my friend clean her apartment. At home, it’s the full coverage I need for cooking and cleaning- which I do all the time. Actually, no, but this apron makes getting the house clean that much more fun. All I need now are some cute rubber gloves.

I decided to cross the shoulder straps in the back, as seen in the photo below, since that’s more comfortable for me.

The strap is brown and my t-shirt is burgundy so it’s hard to see, but it works with the burgundy bodice.

So, if you’ve been wanting to make a smock apron, head on over to Sewfearless’s blog, follow her on twitter, download her free patterns, and bug her about writing up another pattern. She just made an awesome diaper bag from scratch- no pattern. Wouldn’t it be nice to see how she made that?

Thanks, Jodi!

On a related not, be careful when browsing the web for “free apron patterns”. Last week, when I was in search of an apron pattern, viruses kept trying to infect my computer. Another way to find free patterns is to use “tutorial” instead of “free”. Keep your computer safe.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Pattern Review: Best Worn Barefoot Apron

  • nancy says:

    I totally want that style apron! so cute!!!!

    • Leila says:

      The pattern is free. You should make one. I’m sure you’ve got 2 yards of coordinating fabric in your stash. 🙂 I really love how this apron worked out.

  • meg mcguire says:

    oh that is soooo cute missy! you rocked the basic apron pattern!

  • Liz says:

    As the friend in question, everyone should know that for “helping my friend clean her apartment” you should read “cleaned my friend’s apartment”.

    • Leila says:

      Liz, you should also be known as the friend who welcomed me into Indy as well as the one who fed me delicious pecan pizza. Nomnom

  • Jodi says:

    Thank you for all the feedback! I’m glad you love your apron.

    When I first saw the particular sewing technique (the one used in step #42) in a McCall’s pattern, i was confused to no end. So with my lack of tutorial writing experience, it is not surprising that I didn’t communicate it well. It is a really fun technique though, and I love the end result. I’ll try to think of a better wording or add some better pictures.

    – Jodi

    • Leila says:

      Jodi, I learned this technique from your tutorial. So, thanks for that. I love the final look, too. That’s one of the pieces that makes this pattern have a sweet finish. It’s so clean.

  • […] twitter buddy Lelia (@lbreton) made herself a Best Worn Barefoot Smock Apron in May and posted a review of it on her website Bilingual Baby. Isn’t that the perfectest fabric choice for an apron? I like how she is wearing the straps […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pattern Review: Best Worn Barefoot Apron at bilingual baby.

meta

