Cutting spree

April 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m nervous about starting a costume that’s for this summer’s cosplay because it seems like such a big project. Remember the fabric I bought at Vogue Fabrics? Well, that one blue material…

is gonna be prepped so I can make a corset. In the meantime, the heavy twill I also bought is going to help me practice my corsetmaking skills, which you know are being developed.

Problems I had with the corset:

The grommets are really hard to get into a straight line. Unless you’re anal, you, like me, will have to take several breaks while drawing where the grommets will go.

Definitely use topstitching thread and, depending on your fabric, a 100/16 topstitching needle. You’ll have to go online to buy some and make sure you get a bunch so you don’t start crying in the middle of your project, having broken every last needle. Yah, I’ve been there.

There’s more that I learned from making this corset but I want to dedicate an entire post on it. One of my friends also suggested to do a sew-along. If you’re interested in making a corset with me, leave me a comment.

Back to overall costume chat.

I’m also working on the undergarments for this costume which include the chemise, drawers from this pattern:

To start this, I need to pull out the fabric and iron it and the pattern pieces, pin, cut, and repeat until everything is cut out and ready for me. Or, I could just work on one at a time. This indecision is just one of many concerning this project. I have a book that has patterns, or really, instructions on how to draft your own pattern using an apportioning scale.

Can you see my face go white? I’m a little out of my element here but I’m just going to keep plugging along. At least I can keep talking about it. That’s probably good.

I have a Pod to make for some friends who just had a baby so I’m sure I’ll work on that before actually getting much started on the chemise and other undergarments.

Wish me luck.

And do let me know whether you’d like to join in a Corset Sew Along. If you’ve never participated in a sew along, it’s just a way to work on a project with help along the way.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cutting spree at bilingual baby.

meta

