My Dinosaur Celebrates Ayyam-i-Ha

February 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

 

This year for Ayyam-i-Ha I thought I’d make something really special for my kids. After reading so many books about Christmas from the Dora and Diego franchise, and watching kid’s shows about the same in December, I turned looking for any books already in print about Ayyam-i-Ha. There are a couple of books but they are longer than baby brother’s attention span allows which excludes him from story time when bilingual baby requests those particular books.

Ayyam-i-Ha are the days leading up to the Baha’i Fast- the 19 days in March when Baha’is in good health (and who are 15 and older) refrain from eating and drinking during daylight hours. You wake up before sunrise, eat and pray. Your day changes by the mere fact that you are always reminded of the fact that you aren’t eating. You don’t go for that 10am coffee or tea, you skip lunch altogether, and that 4pm snack that keeps you going is replaced with meditation and more prayer.

At the end of the Fast is our New Year- the first day of Spring- March 21st.

Going back to Ayyam-i-Ha. It’s a time of celebration, sharing meals, giving gifts and volunteering, among many other things. There is no prescription for what you have to do. You do what your heart moves you to do. Some people have tons of parties, some don’t. It’s different for everyone.

That’s was where the thought arose for this Ayyam-i-Ha book. I knew something as mainstream as dinosaurs celebrating Ayyam-i-Ha hadn’t been done (if it has, please let me know!) and I figured self-publishing would be my surest bet.

Bookemon is a fun website for self-publishing. You can share your book, you can buy copies, your friends can buy copies, and it’s always there.

Without further ado, check out my new book. I drew all the pictures and came up with the activities the dinosaurs would engage in which I guess makes me the author and illustrator (fancy names for “I did it”). Feel free to click on the dinosaur above to go directly to the book online where you read the whole book and order your own copy. I hope you enjoy it!

As you’re reading it, notice that the Maisasaura (the AP mom of the dinos) is the one teaching the children’s class; the Apatosaurus is planting a veggie garden, having been an herbivore; the Alxasaurus has the long finger nails which easily double as knitting needles; and something you may not know is that baby brother insists he is T-Rex, which makes me mama T-Rex, which is why she’s the one sewing adventure bags.

Let me know in the comments what you think of my humble little book.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Dinosaur Celebrates Ayyam-i-Ha at bilingual baby.

meta

