Corsets and Angry Sewing Machines

January 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

I picked this beauty of a book up from the library. I’m enjoying the history and the patterns are a plus. You also get two patterns with instructions so you can replicate them. The corsets are works of art.

Now I’ve got this idea in my head that I’d like to use some of the jeans Josh has left for dead to make a corset. It’s a practice corset. See, I’m making a Victorian costume and I’m dreading the corset part.

Back to the jeans. These jeans have ripped knees that really make them less pants and more shorts plus some material hanging by a handful of threads in the back. What can I say, the guy has angry knees.

I knew I wasn’t the first to think of upcycling jeans into a corset so I went online to look for images. This is one of my favorites. Such a clean look.

The photo below shows you the pattern I bought.

I finally cut out the pattern pieces. Lots of little pattern pieces. While the Necchi is sitting there staring at me, angry cos I put her in a coma, I’m just leaving the cut pieces for the time when I can approach her without feeling so bad.

I don’t want to make her feel bad by using the Touchtronic, but then again, I just might.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Corsets and Angry Sewing Machines

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Corsets and Angry Sewing Machines at bilingual baby.

meta

