Metaphorically Speaking

January 13, 2011 § 5 Comments

A friend commented that he admired my single-focused wall on facebook. To quote him, he said, “Your Facebook page is to fabrics as ESPN is to sports.”

If you know me at all, you know I can’t just sit there and take a compliment. If I’m feeling attacked, I’ll sit and stew. If I’m flattered, I get chatty. And chatty I did get.

I started thinking about ESPN and what I could learn and incorporate from that enterprise. Here’s a list I started. What do you think? I know at least one of my readers, Nicole, will find the first especially appealing.

1. Fantasy Sewing Teams, where you plan out garment sewing but never touch thread, sewing machine, seam ripper, etc.

2. Scoreboard on garment victories, similar to Ravelry’s rating system.

3. Sewing Blooper Reels

4. and an In the News column to keep everyone up to speed on the current trends in the sewing world.

Aside from having an Unfinished Project Party, inspired by the activity on the blog with the same name, I’m thinking Fantasy Sewing will conquer the hearts of all. Imagine all the expensive fabric you can imagine working with. Oh, wait. I already do that.

Watch out world, and Project Runway, Fantasy Sewing is coming your way.

P.S. Thanks Brian for instigating all of these ideas. Even if I never fulfill any of them, the thought of them is just enticing.

§ 5 Responses to Metaphorically Speaking

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Metaphorically Speaking at bilingual baby.

meta

