My Sock Drawer Regains a Purpose

January 6, 2011 § 3 Comments

I got all heavy and analytical with yesterday’s post, so today, in stead of my Weekly Special, I give you a look at two books I recently picked up at the library.

I picked this first one up on a whim and saw the second and figured I could use as many ideas as possible. Hoarder? Is that what you called me? Sigh. I know I am. Let’s move on.

If you have stray socks, these books will delight you on many levels. You’ll enjoy the fact that you’re riding your sock drawer (mine is small) of unused socks and you’ll be able to make gifts out of the whole process- or give you kids a set of fish.You could add a washer in the tip of the fish and create a fishing game, too. There’s a lot you can do.

The patterns are really simple. You don’t even have to use the pattern, I say. You are also working a toy, so sizing isn’t that important. My favorites are the hamster and the octopus.

The instructions are clear and the photography is clean. I love it.

This next book is a gem hidden behind a busy cover. I totally judge a book by its cover and this cover sells itself short. The author puts way more attention into his creations, though, which makes up for the busy cover. This would be like level 2 of sock toys.

The author, Daniel, cuts and builds his toys but he also molds the stuffing and creates details with hand stitching. He creatively uses the layering of socks, for instance, to create toys that have more depth and in some cases more attitude.

 

I’m not sure if I’m going to get back out today to buy the heavy duty thread I need to start an Amy Butler bag I’ve been meaning to get to for the last 2 years. With these two books in hand, I can look through all the stray socks and see what I can make.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to My Sock Drawer Regains a Purpose

  • Juliet says:

    I love that the one on the cover of the second book looks like Totoro. This would be a major selling point for me, LOL! I need to get these books and get going before Ayyam-i-Ha!

    • Leila says:

      I think the second book puts more time into the creations and is well worth the effort. The first book is just simpler, sort of, cos you have to cut all these tiny pieces and stitch them up, then stitch them together, etc. Pick your poison. Ayyam-i-Ha, here we come!

  • meg mcguire says:

    They had these at your library!?!?!? *sigh*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Sock Drawer Regains a Purpose at bilingual baby.

meta

