Weekly Special: This is Me Loving You

December 31, 2010 § 1 Comment

Our visit with Josh’s family went really well. It has gone well before but this visit we all worked on a little transition and, in short, it went beautifully. There are a few more boundaries between adult/child play and I think every grown-up got a little break during the day, which made our stay less intense.

Josh and I got to go into Chicago and I ended up away from my kids for a whole 9 hours. It was amazing. Everyone seemed happy with the arrangement. I knew the time would come when it would be possible. I guess I didn’t think baby brother would be so young. He was fine. He asked for me but accepted the “mama will be back later” answer.

I hope everyone reading this little blog had a great holiday. For the Baha’is among us, start planning some Ayyam-i-Ha fun for the end of February. I know I’m already on it.

______________________________________

For this Weekly Special, I wanted to share a couple of quotes on love from the Baha’i Writings:

“If love and agreement are manifest in a single family, that family will advance, become illumined & spiritual…” -Abdu’l-Baha

“When love is realized & the ideal spiritual bonds unite the hearts of men, the whole human race will be uplifted…” -Abdu’l-Baha

I don’t think any family is void of tests. My young family isn’t. When I’m centered I can clearly see that every challenge, every obstacle and difficulty is just a test that serves to refine my character. When the tests affect my husband and myself, I assure myself it’s a test to challenge the strength of our marriage. It’s supposed to be a good thing, even if it’s incredibly painful (and exhausting) at the time.

The funny thing is that you can’t really study for these tests. Or, rather, the study implies prayer and meditation. And lots of it. You don’t know when a test is coming and you surely don’t know how long it’ll stay.

Most of the time, once I say, “this is just a test”, I feel better. It’s like someone turned on the lights and I can see that there’s a table in front of me that’s been keeping me from crossing the room. Once the light is on, the table is no longer an obstacle.

Once there is no obstacle, I feel like I’m more inclined to show love, kindness, patience. It comes easily. It’s not manipulative. It’s just a manifestation of having passed another test in a long line of tests.

It’s almost magical. How amazing then is it to bring this magic, this love that cultivates a spiritual bond, into my relationship with my kids and the adults that surround our lives.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Weekly Special: This is Me Loving You

  • SarahA says:

    Thank you for this – for reminding me how important definitions are. I may actually be able to go forward with some energy now that I have defined this challenging time in my life.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Special: This is Me Loving You at bilingual baby.

meta

