Toddler Activities

December 2, 2010 § 2 Comments

This gem of a book has a ton of activity ideas to give toddler/pre-schoolers to learn a host of different concepts. All these activities revolve around “jobs” for kids to do. The materials used in this book are all things you can either find around the house or get at a hardware store and craft store.

This morning, before bilingual baby woke up, I made up the Patterns game. It involved getting photos of swatches of fabric (I used actual fabric) and cutting and gluing them to 4X6 cards. The game in the book has you preparing a sorting box. Instead of making the sorting box, I just gave her the cards and let her play with them. I did point out that there were stripes, plaid, solid color, polka dots, and checks. There are two of each, so naturally a game of memory ensued.

We did this while baby brother was downstairs watching Dora on the computer. Now, I don’t know what you’re gonna say about this mama-prompted game, but bilingual baby told me that I had the best games, ever. Here’s a photo of the memory game.

There’s another workjob perfect for baby brother. It’s the key and locks game. Basically, there’s a lot of work to put this together so I just gave him a set of keys and locks (all the same size, which I want to change) and let him play. He loved the game and thanked me a ton. The repeated “thank you, mami” was really sweet.

Yesterday, after baby brother suggested we play Blues Clues, and the game had slowed down a bit, I suggested we play Hibernating Bears. It’s a game from the book, The Everything Toddler Activities Book by Joni Levine. I can’t speak for the whole book, but this game was really fun and it was just a suggestion that the kids took and flew with.

I don’t want to direct all their play, so I’m only making one game suggestion (where I have to prep) a day- or at least that’s what I’ve done the last two days.

Here’s the kids’ own hibernating cave, which they played in all day- off an on.

I’ve got video of them but baby brother doesn’t wear much, so it’s not appropriate for mass consumption.

FYI; I found both books on amazon, if you’re looking for game ideas.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Toddler Activities

  • Becky says:

    What a neat book. I am new to the concept of buying my daughter bilingual story books. However, a friend of mine suggested I start reading them to her, and that it would make learning Spanish a lot easier (I want her to be able to speak Spanish, just feel it will help her in life). I picked up “Jazz Fly 2: The Jungle Pachanga” by Matthew Gollub and was pleasantly surprised at how quickly she started picking up the words (around 40 Spanish phrases). I think the fun CD helped… full of music, rhyming and rhythm.

  • […] recently talked up a book called The Everything Toddler Activities Book. This book doesn’t have to be read in one sitting. I’m actually enjoying having it […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Toddler Activities at bilingual baby.

meta

