Sewing Machine Attachments

November 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

On our drive back from celebrating my father-in-law’s 60th birthday, I had a chance to peruse one of my recent library loaners. This book is really, truly, all about sewing machine attachments. I’ve been eying some attachments for the new Necchi and when I picked up this book I knew my interest would be kept.

Charlene Phillips goes through a ton of attachments, tells you how to use them, as well as gives you a little tid bit of history. I love the history. Most attachments were made as a result of the development of new techniques.

Each attachment made these new techniques more enjoyable, as Phillips suggests. When you work the same techniques into most or all of your sewing projects, having these specialty feet really makes the tasks less tedious, and the creative part of your sewing shine more brightly.

If you’re looking into specialty feet and you’re not sure what you might benefit from, check out this book, or look online, and learn about all the attachments available for your sewing machine.

You need to know if you have a high shank, low shank, or slanted shank sewing machine, so you can purchase the correct attachments. I have a sewing machine that doesn’t quite work that well, but it has some great attachments. Sadly, I can’t use those attachments on my Necchi, which is becoming a reliable machine.

Once you know what type of foot you’re looking for, think about the tasks you perform the most. The two that come to mind for me are a 1/4 inch rolled hem and making ruffles.

For some projects, it seems that’s all I do. I also do a lot with multiple thick layers, and for that the Walking Foot has been indispensable.

So, in my case, having an attachment, like the 1/4 inch Rolled Hem Foot would speed up my work because this foot eliminates the measuring, pressing and pinning of a hem.

Then, there’s the Ruffler, which looks like a small machine all to its own. Again, like the hemmer foot, the Ruffler helps you avoid the tedious work of sewing two parallel long stitches and pulling on the bobbin thread to create a ruffle. The Ruffler also lets you make a ruffle with one piece of fabric while sewing it to a flat (non ruffled) bottom layer. Really, the potential is huge.

In case I don’t get back to this blog before Thanksgiving, have a safe time everyone! Enjoy your choice of dish and live up the tradition.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sewing Machine Attachments at bilingual baby.

meta

