A Birthday Present for my Girl

November 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

I just told a friend this afternoon that I wasn’t going to talk about this huge project I’m starting for bilingual baby, but now I’m actually getting excited and confident that I won’t pull out all my hair before it’s done.

It all started with the purchase of this princess crown:

Bilingual baby doesn’t know who the “girl” is on her crown, nor does she seem to mind not knowing. All she knows is that she’s still missing the wand.

After talking my girl out of the store bought princess dress, I took the kids to the fabric store I banned myself earlier this year due to the incapable staff. Lucky for me and my ban, the woman who cut my fabric today was very nice, which made up for her lack of input.

This pattern calls for a dress, or as I’ll be calling it, a slip, or chemise, underneath the whole thing. I’m making this out of cotton sateen I got at Heart of Vermont before we left. This will add a layer of warmth so bilingual baby can wear the dress all winter long.

Then, there’s the vest which I’m making out of shimmery satin. The skirt will start with a lining layer, followed by heavy weight tulle, lighter tulle, the shimmery stain, and finished off with sparkly organza.

The only changes I’m seeing myself making so far are the warmth giving slip, which may require adding some of the satin to it to coordinate with the skirt, as well as adding sleeves to the vest.

Yes, people, we’re talking five layers of fabric for a child turning 4 years old.

Wish me and my sanity luck.

In case you don’t follow me on facebook, my daughter insists this isn’t a costume. It’s an outfit. An outfit. Get it right.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to A Birthday Present for my Girl

  • pnctink says:

    Can’t wait to see it! BTW I like your new layout too. 🙂

    • Leila says:

      Thanks!

      as far as the layout, I keep changing my mind with regards to the main content of this blog and whether I should just start another separate one for just the sewing stuff and keep this as my family blog. dunno.

  • pnctink says:

    I like the mix. I’ve been contemplating mine too, but I really only blog to keep records for myself (memory is shot) so that’s why I’ve kept all my stuff in the same place. If you’re making things for TMD then maybe you should have a blog for that, but keep sewing for your family here?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Birthday Present for my Girl at bilingual baby.

meta

