Weekly Special: This is Me Loving You

November 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

I almost forgot it was Friday. Not that the weekend provides any change in the daily. The mom in Modern Family’s season 2 says that vacation with kids is like a business trip. Basically, that it’s not “fun”. It’s work. Weekend’s aside, I wanted to talk bilingual stuff.

When people around me hear me talking to the kids in Spanish, I’m usually asked whether they are bilingual. In comparison to a kid who has never heard another language spoken by a parent/caregiver, then yes, my kids are bilingual.

Do they speak to me in Spanish? Not really. But baby brother is just getting the hang of speaking in general, so the question really requires an N/A in the answer field.

Bilingual baby has started using more Spanish but it’s not something I require her to do. Maybe my kids will grow up with less of a leg up than their fully bilingual counterparts, or perhaps they’ll gain interest independently and learn how to read, speak, and write both formally and informally without the potential cohersion.

I’m not concerned they won’t learn the language. First and foremost I have to be on their side. I need to trust that they are going at their own pace and that, in time, they will probably be interested in the language I speak and grew up with.

So, kids, when I don’t make a big deal out of the fact that you always answer me in English, this is me loving you. It’s the only way I know how.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Special: This is Me Loving You at bilingual baby.

meta

