Sewing Projects: Turquoise Sheath Top

August 18, 2010 § 1 Comment

As far as a review of the patterns in the Built by Wendy book, I can only speak for the Sheath which has raglan sleeves. The neat thing about this book is that Wendy Mullin shows you how to alter the given patterns to make a couple varieties of dresses. The thing to know is that she does not show you how to make major alterations, and the styles are really similar. That said, just changing up the fabric you use, or color combinations can completely change how a dress comes out. I think it’s still a good book, despite this, because it gives you a starting point.

What kind of major alterations am I talking about? Well, if you hate buying ready-to-wear blouses or dresses, this will not be of any help. The patterns in the book still go off of the standard patterns in stores (Simplicity, and the like) where a B cup is the norm. If you’re a B cup, grab a copy and go to town.

However, if you’re like me, who has a larger chest and smaller frame, then you’ll just want to skip to the harder stuff and save yourself the time and frustration of thinking you’re going to make something that’s going to fit, when it just won’t. I’ve put in some time working with patterns that just don’t work for my oh-so-unique body. Lucky me. It’s just going to take time for me to learn what I need to learn, since I’m going about it on my own.

According to my bust size, I’m an XL, but don’t you dare suggest I wear an XL. It’ll fit like a tent. I actually cut down my pattern down to a size S this time just to try to get the armholes to fit right. This is my biggest annoyance with ready-to-wear. Armholes.

The next picture shows how badly the sleeves fit, even after downsizing to a M. See how puffy? I think I’d need to make the sleeves, front, and back shorter by trimming off the top, but I’m not sure that’s what I should do, either. I’ll need to experiment. Anyway, here, for posterity, is an awful picture of me and my sewing. I didn’t iron it, I hate it so.

I also had to take in the sides, it was so wide at the waist and hips. (It was crappy fabric, so I don’t mind the waste. It’s all learning, right?)

As you can see, it’s not a dress at all, but a top. See, shorten a dress pattern and you get a top. Yay. Back to work. I’ve got loads to learn.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Sewing Projects: Turquoise Sheath Top

  • pnctink says:

    It looks much better with the sides taken in! I’d have your same issues, so I sympathize. I think you’re doing well to keep plugging along with it. I’d have given up for now. I’m still browsing for dress patterns for myself, but I am lengthening a shirt pattern to make Chloe some fall dresses too. Maybe I’ll make myself some t-shirt dresses!! LOL!! 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sewing Projects: Turquoise Sheath Top at bilingual baby.

meta

