Transitioning

July 28, 2010 § 2 Comments

Here in the bilingual baby household, we’re in flux. Baby brother is nursing less and less (though still going strong) and both kids are enjoying time away from mama. That leaves me with more time on my hands. It’s a game of hurry up and wait. I get the food request as if they haven’t eaten in weeks. I make the mad dash to make some food and they sit and shovel it in. Once their tummies are full enough, they get back to playing.

Sometimes I get included in the play, sometimes I don’t. I don’t mind, but I feel like I don’t know what to do with myself while I wait for the next request.

Oh, yes. I could clean.

Only problem is that baby brother wants to see me when he’s playing, so I can’t be gone long. I need to be within eyesight, which leaves me only a few things that I can do.

It just feels like a big transition. The kids play together quite a bit during the day, which is not altogether new. It’s the duration of play that’s increased.

Today, I taught a private sewing lesson, and now have two sewing machines sitting on the dining room table. I’m working on some diaper repairs that I received last weekend. This is the perfect kind of work for a transition week. I can start and stop at any point- these repairs won’t self-destruct if I set them down to help a little someone out.

I’m just not sure what this will lead to- not that knowing will make anything better. It’ll be interesting to see how this week leads into next week, or next month.

Here’s a painting by Jules Breton. I’m feeling really connected to it today:

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Transitioning

  • Gayle says:

    Me encanta tu post y el painting. Asi me siento muchos dias. Tengo cosas que podria hacer pero no puedo porque necesito estar a la vista. Estamos super conectadas a travez de la distancia. Te quiero.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Transitioning at bilingual baby.

meta

