Cat Pants

June 9, 2010 § 5 Comments

Boy clothes are either blue, green, brown or black. You’ll find stripes, but not dots, solids and few prints. It’s sad after having a girl. Girl clothes have interest. Visual and textured.

My little boy wants to wear his sister’s clothes… for no other reason, I believe, than they’re cuter. I’m guessing he loves the fabric, the simple designs, and maybe the fact that I made them- I swear by that part.

In light of that, and because baby brother likes cats, I made cropped pants for him from this fabric that I bought a couple of months ago. As I was cutting, my little girl asked if there was enough fabric to make a pair for her, too. Of course!

So, they got matching pants. I think it’s adorable.

I was talking to my mom and she said that my sister, with her two boys, is also frustrated by the lack of t-shirts that don’t have a superhero on them. She doesn’t want all the paraphernalia and tries to get the older one (especially) in clothes that don’t have a whole lot of stuff she finds inappropriate.

I’m lucky to have the parents and in-laws I have. Neither side of the family is into having the kids wear clothing that fits the stereotype. Now, I just need to set up a wish list on my favorite online fabric store so they can buy clothes for the kids via fabric… I know it’s not the same for some but bilingual baby is into fabric stores- but that’s what she knows. She gets a fat quarter every once in a while and comes home to play cutting.

Enjoy the photos. In them, they are cuddling, doing tai chi (that’s what bilingual baby told me they were doing), balancing, and running in circles.

§ 5 Responses to Cat Pants

  • calegar says:

    The children are so cute! I had the same feeling about boy clothes, but I had my boys first and found bright fun prints and made little shirts and pants for them! They do love the colors! I let them pick out their fabrics and it made it more fun.
    Now I have a girl, and now I’m having even more fun!
    Love the pants!

  • Gayle says:

    Me encantan Los pantalones y los dos se ven divinos en ellos!

  • Leila says:

    Calegar,
    I saw your store. I love your fabric. Thanks for leaving the link.

    Gayle, los vas a ver pronto. Mientras, seguire mandando/poniendo fotos. te quiero.

  • Erin says:

    SUCH cute pictures!

    Zach LOVES cats (he calls them meows)..would love these.

    I agree COMPLETELY on the boy clothing issue. I always seem to end up with animal stuff because he’s into animals but all the superhero, transformer, etc. is annoying. Plus the boys clothes are so limited.

    We are in the stage where he likes to pick out what he gets to wear each day and he’s not liking his options!

    You are so talented, Leila!

  • Honey says:

    Cute pics and pants! I look forward to having a sewing machine one day, I’m sure I could manage a few small projects like simple pants. Svara only likes to wear long pants made out of stretchy knit fabrics, sometimes hard to find, but if I can find fabric I could make some.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cat Pants at bilingual baby.

meta

