Mishap at the sewing table

March 29, 2010 § 7 Comments

I’ve been doing seamstress work for hire for about a year. This weekend I was tailoring a skirt for one of Josh’s co-workers… and I cut a 2 inch hole into the back of the skirt.

How in the world could that happen?

I was at my serger finishing off the side seams and some of the fabric from the back got caught in the blade. I was being careless.

Last night, I was ready to throw in the towel and say I was never going to do seamstress work ever again. Honestly, right now I’m afraid to tailor anything. I hope that this fear will go away after a couple of months.

I still have to face Josh’s co-worker.

I also figure that I’ll just get bad press from her. That’s what it is.

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to Mishap at the sewing table

  • Nicole says:

    Whoops!! It does happen. The best thing to do is get back in the saddle as soon as possible. 😉

  • lacey says:

    Darn! I agree with Nicole, though. You can also offer to make Josh’s coworker a new skirt (pattern of your choosing so your time isn’t overly-taxed) as compensation. An apology goes a long way!

    • Leila says:

      Thanks you two. I contacted the woman and she was more than kind. She said accidents happen. Good thing this mishap was with someone so understanding.

    • Leila says:

      Thanks you two. I contacted the woman and she was more than kind. She said accidents happen. Good thing this mishap was with someone so understanding.

  • Meredith says:

    Accidents happen to every professional, no matter how experienced they are. Our wedding photographer had some problem with her camera and ended up losing 50% of our photos (which is way worse than a skirt). And while I was sad about it, she was way more devastated.

  • gayle says:

    In the words of Elmo, “accidents happen when you’re awake or nappin’…accidents happen and that’s OK.” (Borrowed from Elmo’s Potty Time video though I find the lyrics appropriate to infinitely many situations.) I think the idea of replacing the skirt with one you make specially for her is a great idea. Acordate hermana mia que somos humanos y todos cometemos errores de vez en cuando. 🙂

  • […] Second, Remember the time when I was tailoring a couple of skirts for one of Josh’s co-workers and I cut up her skirt with my serger. Oh, how enraged I was with myself. I’ve grown from that experience. A lot. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mishap at the sewing table at bilingual baby.

meta

