Knitting, zippers and babies

March 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

At the yarn swap this year, I got 9 skeins of this olive colored wool. In exchange, I sewed in a zipper into a friend’s handknit sweater vest for her husband. For the record, it takes a lot of care to insert a zipper into handknits. Period.

Now, with 9 skeins of yarn, at 156 meters each, I’m knitting myself a sweater. I’ve been staring at the Therapi instructions for a couple of days and it must be that I’m not getting enough sleep cos it just doesn’t make sense. I’m going to knit night tonight and I’m hoping to get some guidance so I can start this puppy.

I’m letting it be my winter 2010/2011 sweater. I’m in no rush.

We did get sick from the turn in weather. It went from sweater weather, nice and cool and mostly sunny and bright, to gray and overcast and rainy and yuck. We’re in pajamas today to see if we scare the cold away by stinking it out. 😉

Last night, after I had put baby brother to bed, I came downstairs and got a phone call from a friend who gave birth to her little baby girl. I am torn. I want to rush over there and shower them with love and food and, of course, their podaegi, but I also want them to have the time to themselves. Congratulations!

Here’s their podaegi (“pod”, for short):

You’ll notice it’s a Sybil (multiple personality, or two non-coordinating fabric) pod- aka. mama/papa pod (I haven’t come up with a good name yet). My friend and her hubby picked out the blanket fabric. Beautiful light blue for mama (and papa):

And zigzag squares on the papa side (and mama, too):

Can you tell that the head rest/shoulder strap is standing up by itself? That’s called padding! There are 4 layers in the shoulder straps plus the layer of padding from the blanket part of the pod. Pretty sweet.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Knitting, zippers and babies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Knitting, zippers and babies at bilingual baby.

meta

