Training a horse

March 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

At the last knit night here in town, I listened as one of the knitters talked about her horse. She was having a really hard time every since the horse flipped out and hit her, several times. She told us that it took a very long hour to retrain the horse (longer than it should take, from her perspective); she managed to quiet the horse’s urge to kick and go batty. Basically, she said, once your horse has kicked or done something that a trained horse shouldn’t do, you have like 30 seconds to let that horse know that if she doesn’t stop she’s going to die.

Yeah. I know. Light knitting discussion.

Let’s lighten things up as I draw the parallel I wanted to draw. I think that this sort of horse training (good or bad aside) is like threading a serger.

Wait. Don’t go. There’s a point to be made.

I had to change one of the needles on my serger and figured I should just get in the habit of always changing both so I don’t forget which one is the …. ok. I’ll get to it. As I was replacing the serger with brand new needles, a couple of things got moved around. For one, the serger itself got moved upstairs to the home of my sewing machine for the duration of my sewing class. Who knows why things shifted.

After replacing the needle and getting a sloppy stitch out of the machine, I tweaked a couple of metal pieces to see if it would work right. It didn’t seem to work, so I cut all the threads (there are 4 on this particular machine) at the cones and started threading from scratch. At that point, I felt like the knitting horse trainer. I let my serger know in no uncertain terms that there would be consequences if it didn’t start working.

Lo and behold, it did. Good job, serger!

(Here’s a photo of a serger like mine. This one is similing.)

Disclaimer: No sergers, needles, or cones of thread were harmed in the writing of this post. No names were changed because no one was innocent.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training a horse at bilingual baby.

meta

