Bopa

January 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

During our recent visit to my in-laws house a new nickname was established. Baby brother has been calling my father in law “Bopa” for a while now and it’s starting to stick. While we were out there, I asked my fil if he’d mind being called Bopa and he liked it!

I only met one of my grandparents. It was my maternal grandfather. We called him Bapa (same pronunciation as my kids’ Bopa). I’m so glad that my kids have grandparents on both sides that they can get to know. They even have a great grandmother. How cool is that!

When I was a kid I even adopted my best friend’s grandmother. They called her “Bue”, short for Abuela. She’s passed on, and even though we didn’t see her very often, she was as close as I ever got to having a living grandmother.

I’m doing everything possible to set up opportunities for my kids to be with their grandparents. We’re visiting their Nonitos during January and since we live so far from them I thought it would be appropriate to spend a good chunk of time there. We’ll be there for 3 weeks. It’ll even give us time to visit with some of my college friends who live in the area. Some of them have kids of their own, which should add to the fun.

Bopa and Bapa, Slainte!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bopa at bilingual baby.

meta

