Recon Flannel/ Franela Reconstruida

October 18, 2009 § 1 Comment

recon flannel

recon flannel longview

(Scroll down for the English version)

Aqui esta la conclusion de mi proyecto de hoy. Cogi una franela de mi esposo- una que me habia dado para usar hace dos anos- y la corte y cosi para que me quedara. Para la proxima voy a tomar fotos de antes para que asi se pueda ver mejor lo feita que se veia. Tengo otra franela que puedo reconstruir y prometo tomar fotos de lo grande que me queda. Lo que se pierden de una foto como tal es ver como me quedaba de larga y ancha en los brazos, que tan larga en general me quedaba (aunque me gusto lo largo despues de los arreglos) y el look bombacho no me interesa ahorita.

Asi, con solo fotos de los arreglos, no se nota tanto el cambio, o sea que lo detallare:

1. Usando mis medidas, hice una puntada curveada a los lados de la camisa, para ajustar la cintura y crear una nueva silueta.

2. Encogi la manga quitando un poco de tela en el hombro. Las fotos estan oscuritas pero por lo menos se ve en la primera que la camisa me queda en los hombros. Normalmente si algo que queda en los hombros no me queda en … lo demas.

Ya. Eso fue todo. Que les parece?

Tambien pueden ver mi nuevo corte. Me lo corte yo misma y me encanta. No solo me encanta que me puedo hacerlo yo misma sino que no tengo que esperar hasta conseguir cita y entrar con el miedo de que me lo vayan a embarrar. Antes no me preocupaban estas cosas; sera que es algo que surgio despues de tener a mis bebes.

=========

Here’s the end result of a recent flannel recon. Bilingual papi gave me a couple of flannel shirts about two years ago and I’ve been waiting for the right moment to reconstruct them into something I’d want to wear. Something that wouldn’t make me feel like I was a day or two postpartum. I always forget the before picture… next time… What you don’t get to see in the before picture is how frumpy I looked in this flannel. It was sized an XL shirt for men, making the length super long (which I kept), the arms too wide and long and everything else just too oversized for my taste these days.

Since the before photos aren’t available, I’ll detail the fixes I made:

1. Using my measurements I sewed a curved line on each side, triming the original side seam and creating a new silhouette.

2. I also took in the sleeves by tucking in a bit at the shoulders. In the first picture you can really see it. The shoulders used to look like drop shoulders but really they just looked like I was wearing a baggy shirt- which I was. Normally if it fits in the shoulders it won’t fit anywhere else.

So that was it. What do you think?

You can also see my new hair cut. I started cutting my hair a couple of months ago- as in I cut my own hair when I get that urge. Thing is… I love it. I love that I can cut my own hair and don’t have to wait until I can get an appointment and possibly be disappointed with the results, which I never used to be, so this must be a new thing since having kids.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Recon Flannel/ Franela Reconstruida

  • Jana says:

    Hi Leila, great shirt, once again I am amazed! I had no idea you have this page, great job!
    We must talk sooooon!
    Love Jana

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recon Flannel/ Franela Reconstruida at bilingual baby.

meta

