Baby brother wrestles with molars

September 20, 2009 § 2 Comments

It’s true and I had forgotten it would eventually happen. We’ve had such a smooth time with baby brother and now that he’s in so much pain and it seems that all four molars will make their way through his skin and peek out to wave a mighty hello, I feel bad for him. I feel bad for me, too. I’m only human and hearing the frustrations of a mouth on fire coupled with the ups and downs of a very perceptive two year old is a lot. It’s a plate full. (I am excited to let you know that I sold another podeagi! And, I’m doing more and more alterations and repairs from my home. It feels good to work on the sewing machine and help other families.) I let few know the ins and outs of my days for the simple reason that I don’t need the conversation. Don’t get me wrong. I love a good conversation but with all the stuff going on around the house right now all I need is to move on. Yup. Get through it. Certain things aren’t gonna change. We are how we are and it’s nobody’s fault that we’ve been partnered with the kids/parents we’ve got.

Let me slow down here. I’ve been considering for a while that when we are born into this life, we have great potential and a set capacity. We don’t know either. Nobody knows either. We can get to know ourselves until the cows come home (this saying is one of the funniest American sayings I’ve heard ever) but the fact is that knowing the why (why am I this way?) is little help (remember, it’s my blog and my opinion). Knowing how we are today is a bringer of change. Awareness is change. Movement. Life. Breathing in a new understanding expands our knowing into ourselves, which can then bring out our potential. Parts of us we didn’t know were a part of us. How far can we change? Dunno. There’s a lot we don’t know. Getting stuck in the “why don’t we know?” stagnates progress. How are we today? That can change and morph into something new every time we bother to ask.

§ 2 Responses to Baby brother wrestles with molars

  • lacey says:

    Yes yes YES! Thank you for so eloquently and clearly stating something I also firmly believe about human nature. So many people I know dedicate time and resources to getting to know themselves, which I really believe they believe is a worthwhile use of their time. But I think that it’s just natural that people and evolve and change…hopefully for the better but not always so…and that our experiences help us to realize what we are and aren’t capable of (at that point in time). In turn, helping us to “know ourselves.” I’m reminded of how it felt to “know myself” when I realized I met the man I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. I just felt comfortable in my skin, not 100% of course–who does?– but I knew what was going on with me at that time and I didn’t feel like it was going to change drastically anytime soon. And then, I was able to just free up that part of myself to do other things. It’s nearly divine how that all happens…

    But anyways, just wanted to let you know I totally hear you. Thank you for posting this! And hang in there with the molars!

  • Leila says:

    Thanks Lacey. Glad to know my fingers worked to put something intelligible onto the screen for you. love!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby brother wrestles with molars at bilingual baby.

meta

