When the world ends

September 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

for a two year old, it ends. Quickly. Tantrums, as the mainstream calls them. I call it all venting. Venting, in our family, happens periodically but on occasion it happens as an explosion. Take for example, my desire to take her in and out of the grocery store in her stroller. Bad idea. I knew I was going into potential toddler warfare but tried it anyway. I figured I was only getting two items. By the end of my very quick trip to the store, I had a screaming child, one who I didn’t want to pull out and have scream indoors. Oh, and the judging eyes. So many of them. What a horrible mother I must be… No heart… no compassion. After paying and walking outside I was ready to curl up into a little ball and hide until she stopped venting.

She’s going through something. You can just tell. Once she vented she was done. We walked home relaxed. But for those minutes, maybe even seconds in the store, my head was about to explode. Plus, I tried to watch a friend’s kid and she exploded and couldn’t ground herself back, so she got picked up and then another friend stopped by for a quick visit and the world came to an end again and both my kid and my friend’s kid were melting. By the time I got to the grocery store, I had reached my screaming quotient and was done. I just wanted everyone to take a much needed nap- including me. It didn’t happen due to more melting.

I’m often asked if I’m overwhelmed by having two kids and I have to say that my deer-in-headlights look is mostly due to having a 2 year old. I don’t think they are terrible but their emotions are grand and they feel very deeply. So, in essence, they need a shoulder to cry on. A lot!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When the world ends at bilingual baby.

meta

