Teething, Round Two

August 21, 2009 § Leave a comment

Poor baby brother has had a temperature for the last couple of days and has been absolutely miserable. Even when we’ve been around other kids. That’s saying a lot since he’s a very chill person. Right now, he’s have a minute (or two) of lack of discomfort… okay. I wrote that line and immediately heard him crying as he crawled over to me. I now have him on my back and he seems to be doing okay.

The last couple of days it’s been hard to distinguish the beginning from the end of a nursing session. He’s been latched on all day, it seems. At night I think he nurses a lot but I think I’ve got my cruise control on by then and don’t notice the number of wake-ups. It’s one of the blessings of sharing a bed with the fam. On that note, I have to say that the family bed is working out for us. Bilingual baby doesn’t seem to want to transition anywhere else but to baby brother’s side and back. On occasion, she’ll talk about making a tiny bed for herself but it ends up unused. I’ve been thinking about making her a little futon to put on the floor next to our bed. I don’t want her out of our bed but I also don’t want to misread readiness. I suppose readiness will be obvious and what we’re seeing is still a little sparse. I’m just excited to make a bed for her.

Back to the teething. It’s tough, too, that bilingual baby is also reverting to crawling and playing baby. Hers is a need to be close due to all that she’s learning, as much as it’s a call to be as close as her baby brother is to us. Some days it’s harder than others. For the most part, I think I’m juggling just fine on my own. I don’t know that help is openly received by my kids. Last night, bilingual papi did get to do bedtime alone with bilingual baby which is what they did for about off and on during my pregnancy with baby brother.

Gonna run and take a minute shower before the sewing circle arrives. I’m bringing the sewing machine down today and I can’t promise that it’ll be back upstairs by the end of the day. I’ve got too many projects I’ve been meaning to start.

On another note, I noticed that my flickr badge hasn’t been working and I don’t have concentrated computing time to try and fix it and I wanted to share some photos of our recent Chicago/California trip. So, if you’re interested, check out My flickr.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Teething, Round Two at bilingual baby.

meta

