Vacation Wrap up

August 2, 2009 § 3 Comments

We just got back from a two week vacation. It was tiring but also very fun. Tiring only because we drove to Chicago, tried to get in as much fun into a couple of days, flew to California and again tried to get in as much as possible, flew back after a week and then drove back to Vermont. I realized ever more clearly how much more fun it is to be a mother surrounded by others. Daily. Even if we didn’t always agree, it was just more engaging to be around little kids AND adults. Of course, that made me dread coming home where I knew I’d be alone during the day- for the most part. Even if we hang out with friends there are always times when I’m alone with the kids.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy their company but for me it was even more enjoyable to talk to adults during the day, too. Bilingual baby entered a “why” phase, so you can imagine that my vocabulary has been shot in the leg. She also asks for you to repeat explanations of things. I don’t know how many times bilingual papi explained what a silo is while we were driving. I think if he had been alone with the kids he might not have the patience to repeat his explanation over and over. However, with me in the car as well, it didn’t seem that repetitive… either that, or we could just remind each other of how much she was absorbing and how the repetition is something she liked, etc.

We did get to go on outings a lot while we were out. We saw some friends from Chicago that I haven’t seen in the two years we’ve been in Vermont. That was nice. I also got some interest in my pods but had to use scraps of paper to jot down my contact info since my business cards were sitting in our mailbox the whole time we were on vacation. Sigh.

It is nice to be home. Although I thought it was cleaner when we left. I guess homes without kids are way cleaner than my own. What are you gonna do?

Back to basics: making food for the kids all day long, visiting with friends, the babywearing group and sewing. I want to do more repairs and alterations. I need to get the word out.

§ 3 Responses to Vacation Wrap up

  • Janelle says:

    Hi! I just found your blog and I really appreciate all the tips on making cloth diapers. Also, welcome back from your vacation!

  • QueenHoneyB says:

    I totally know what you mean about it being easier when other adults are around. I visited my family last year for a month and it was SO much easier to take care of Svara even though my husband wasn’t even there. Just to have my mom around all day to talk to, and my sister coming home from school every afternoon, and other siblings visiting and different times, there was more adult attention to give to Svara and more for me to share in as well. This year I’m going home for 2 months and I’m really looking forward to it! My husband will be there for part of the time, but not all of it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vacation Wrap up at bilingual baby.

meta

