bilingual theories in book form

May 26, 2009 § 3 Comments

I started reading Raising a bilingual child by Barbara Zurer Pearson and I have to say I feel like a statistic as well as some sort of model citizen of a Utopian society. The author brings up all these wonderful things about bilingual children and how they have an advantage in adulthood and well, I don’t usually feel this smart. hehe.

It does bring up some choices I’ve still yet to come to terms with, like speaking in Spanish in front of others- some people just seem to get itchy and nervous that I’m talking about them and seem to think that that would be the only reason to need another language. I’ve been asked to do a toddler Spanish class and have thought about it but right now with two sewing deadlines, I can’t quite think of anything else.

The garden is coming along, with the lettuce, spinach, beet greens and fennel peeking through. Very exciting! We usually walk around the gardens several times during the day and we’re learning more names of plants and flowers.

Baby brother has started eating some table food. Despite his eagerness, he doesn’t like most of what he gets in his mouth. hehe. He tried to stand all day and is starting to find the kitchen cupboards interesting.

I’ve been losing sleep but enjoying every minute of my new video rental, Felicity. Buffy the vampire slayer was a great 7 seasons but I must confess that I was exhausted after the whole thing.

Estoy que caigo. Me voy a comer… o mejor dicho, me voy a cocinar algo sustantivo para la familia. Hasta la proxima.

§ 3 Responses to bilingual theories in book form

  • Well, I don’t know any Spanish, but I do recognise “Hasta la proxima” from Pocoyo (how sad am I?!)

    • Leila says:

      not sad at all! Yay, Pocoyo. You know “poco yo” means something close to “little me”, literally it means “less me”.

  • bububooks says:

    I don’t think you should worry about speaking Spanish in front of others. Yes it may be tough and uncomfortable sometimes, but as more people become accustomed to the diversity in America (we’re getting there!), this discomfort on both sides will hopefully fade.

    I think it is great you are teaching your child Spanish as that will contribute to the development of her cultural identity. To this day, I still wish my mother had taught us her native language. Indeed, we have no connection to her family since we cannot communicate with them. Also, my view of myself in her culture, American culture and as someone of mixed ethnicity have all been affected by this lack of communication. How will speaking to your children in Spanish only in the confines of your home affect their identity?

    I’ve been around people who get nervous when people start speaking in a foreign language. I found it quite comical–they were talking about sweet potatoes, but the guy thought they were talking about him. I don’t think you should let their ignorance hinder you from raising beautiful, intelligent and diverse children. Kudos to you!

    Laura

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading bilingual theories in book form at bilingual baby.

meta

