Can I brag here for a moment?

May 14, 2009 § 5 Comments

I’ve been feeling a whole lot better since the middle of last week. I can now support bilingual baby in her 2 year old needs. The whining of last week that made me climb the walls seems to have no (or little) effect on me this week. Hormones. Yes.

I got her to nap a couple of days this week- though not all. Yay. Stroller central. We’ve also been trying an experiment. Instead of trying a formal bedtime we’ll just stay downstairs with bilingual baby until she’s tired and falls asleep. Last night we all passed out at 10pm. There’s something in the air here at work. Or maybe it’s just the increased daylight.

Let me continue bragging. I made sushi! I may be the last person on the earth to realize how easy and economical it is to make your own sushi but hey whatcha gonna do. I employed the “one for me, one for the serving platter” mode which left me with very few pieces. hehe

sushi

Since planting the idea (many more gardening references to come) of selling podeagis, I’ve actually had 3 people say they would want to buy one from me. I got some tags made but they won’t arrive for like a month and a half. So, off to work I go. I’ve made two so far and one is in a box making its way to my sister in California.

Bilingual baby has consented to getting into a carrier here and there lately and I just love it. I actually got her and baby brother to go for a walk in carriers. Bilingual baby had been napping in the stroller and woke up but wanted to keep going and said yes to a back ride. Gotta love it.

pod with toddler

I have to say that she felt really light in the pod. I almost didn’t believe it. She’ll ask me to carry her in my arms when I’m cooking and my arms can’t hold her up for as long as she’d like.

Here are some of the things that I’ve overlooked while enjoying the pleasure of my kids company, our friends and sewing:

Vacuuming the upstairs

Promptly putting away the clean clothes (I’m a total college student when it comes to putting clean clothes away- I’ll wash and dry but leave the rest for bilingual papi and luckily he’s a good sport about it.)

Things I’ve learned about my toddler:

Do Not toast bread

and Do Not put anything on her bread

After peeling a tangerine, Do Not break apart the pieces

When brushing her teeth, have her play the role of some character (Pato and Pocoyo work these days) and ask that character what they had to eat so we can get all the food out with the toothbrush.

Follow the rule you use when there’s a fire: Stop. Drop. Roll. To spell it out: When you’re feeling that things are unmanageable, stop what you’re doing, drop everything including expectations and roll with the punches. (If that doesn’t work, have someone watch your kid(s) and go for a jog or a pedicure.)

I should lose (almost) every battle of the wills. We get more pleasure that way.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to Can I brag here for a moment?

  • Well done! That pod is lovely. And pocoyo & pato are also very popular in this house!

  • Leila says:

    Thanks! I just found Pocoyo on youtube. Are there other places to get see the little guy?

  • We found him on Youtube too! Pocoyo is the source of one of LP’s most often used phrases “I’m just laughing like an octopus”, it confuses everyone she says it to but it all makes sense to us 🙂 Octopus tries to make everyone laugh in one episode, LP thinks it is the funniest thing ever!

  • nancy says:

    I love the concept of stop, drop and roll as a parenting philosophy. Im going to adopt it asap.

  • QueenHoneyB says:

    I also like the top, drop and roll reference. I try to do that, but the time when it’s the most difficult is if I’m in the middle of cooking and it’s a step where I can’t really stop. We do the food thing when brushing teeth, too, and Svara likes to stick in references to non-food items too such as “oh, no, spoon!” I’ve just looked up Pocoyo on youtube, he’s cute, I’ll have to keep that bookmarked!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Can I brag here for a moment? at bilingual baby.

meta

