Chemicals in toys… still?

April 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’m still upset all the time about the amount of chemicals in the toys my kids play with. I can’t get over the fact that the United States knows what it’s doing and has no problem with having lead paint on toys or even arsenic. Through The Green Mama, a Chicago-based mom who is trying to help educate families on green living, turned me onto Healthy Toys. From the front page, you can search toys by brand and type. You can see the amount of lead in the toy as well as other chemicals, such as bromine, cadmium, PVC, arsenic and mercury. If you want to have them test a toy you can always suggest it.

My suggestion is to check this tool and the CPSC government recalls before your kid plays with a toy. However, the reality is that there will be times when your child plays with toys you’re just not sure about. The next step is your choice. You can either let it go and be careful at home with the toys she plays with all the time or you can take away anything that you don’t know for a fact to be free of toxins. I go the moderate route and when I find out a toy is toxic and take it out of circulation. I have to say, it takes a lot of effort but I feel the need.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chemicals in toys… still? at bilingual baby.

meta

