Miracle coconut everything soup

March 22, 2009 § 1 Comment

It started with the warm(er) week we just had. I hardly cooked at all. This meant that all the veggies I bought would go to waste if I didn’t cook them up all together today. I had a pound of carrots, a handful of parsnips and a half a bag of potatoes. I thought I had two onions but actually only one was still good.

So, I asked google for help and found this potato, parsnip and carrot soup recipe. I started chopping, which is no easy task with two kids (but still doable so long as everyone is content). I eventually started to saute the onions and by that point had already decided to cream up the soup with coconut milk when I did some serious thinking about adding thyme and parsley. That made me search for a recipe that already had coconut milk in it. I came up with this spiced parsnip and coconut soup. I then added some, not all, of the spices (coriander, cumin seeds, cardamoms, and turmeric) and let it simmer for about 40 minutes. I blended it all up once the potatoes were soft and it turned out really nice. Very much a soup I would enjoy. We’ll see if bilingual papi does, too.

§ One Response to Miracle coconut everything soup

  • studentsoflife says:

    I just happen to have some coconut milk that needs used and some potatoes that are going soft…think I’ll give this a try. Don’t you look google – so many meal saving recipes at the tip of your fingers 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Miracle coconut everything soup at bilingual baby.

meta

