… at least she’s eating…

November 24, 2008 § 1 Comment

Bilingual baby slowed down on eating table food ever since my son was born and my milk came in. Lucky her. She really held out for a long time, hoping every day that I would get my milk back. It’s no surprise that she’s using my milk as her source of food and taking only sips of all the lovely soups bilingual papi has been making us. If you’ve been reading this blog long enough you’ll remember that a number of months ago bilingual baby went through a period of a couple of months where she’d eat everything in sight. “What a good eater”, I’d get. Now, you can imagine that the well-meaning suggest that I offer her more choices or tell her she has to “eat something”. I just can’t do that. Do you know how many times I’ve thought that I was being a bad parent because “you” thought I wasn’t feeding my daughter? Plenty.

However, I’ve thought enough about this eating thing to have some ideas to put out there.

I don’t play airplane to get food into my kids mouths.

If they don’t want to be at the table, that’s fine. (We do end up having a meal before bilingual papi arrives which I think is just what she needs- and when she needs it.) Eating at the table is a social thing and she’ll grow into the social scene.

I don’t over-emphasize how “yummy” my food is so that she’ll have a bite. She wasn’t born yesterday! (ha!)

I try to avoid saying, “here, try it”, cos when she sees there’s food that she wants, she eats it.

I do try to offer her healthy choices so that when she does want to eat she isn’t getting empty calories- and I’m constantly pulling out food, cutting up fruit and pouring the soy milk.

I don’t believe in the “at least she’s eating” mentality. If that were the case, she’d be eating chips and ice cream for every meal just to get in the calories.

My mantra concerning bilingual baby’s eating habits: Her body knows what she needs. Trust in her and she’ll trust in herself.

My defense when someone questions me: I’m the mama.

Tagged:

§ One Response to … at least she’s eating…

  • QueenHoneyB says:

    Three cheers for you! Sounds like you have exactly the right ideas on this. My 19 month old daughter still nurses a lot and doesn’t always eat a lot, though some days she eats more than others. Sometimes I do find myself “playing airplane”, but I know I don’t really have to do that. But I totally agree with what you are saying!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading … at least she’s eating… at bilingual baby.

meta

