How I get two babies to sleep

October 28, 2008 § 2 Comments

I have a friend who also just had a second baby. Her older child is about the age of bilingual baby. Before I had M, I asked her how it was that she did naps. I was so afraid that … something would happen. I don’t even remember what. Sometimes when I’m trying to get bilingual baby down for a nap, M needs to pee so I break the latch with bb and take M to the potty. In those cases, if I don’t worry about the nap “time” and just go with the flow and what they need from me, it usually goes well. When I’m concerned about details, then it’s that much harder… on me. See, I think that how a day goes depends on my attitude.

Since I can nurse both babies at the same time I find that to be my default naptime solution. They both go on and we all fall asleep. BB is much more needy than M is right now so I try to keep her distracted if need be. It depends, though, on the circumstances, who gets their needs met first if I’m alone with them.

What happens when M is not ready to sleep and BB is? I just keep nursing both until she’s out and I can go to another room with him. There are moments during the day when both are crying but so far it hasn’t lasted very long.

At night it’s the same thing but BB needs bilingual papi to be in the room so she can slip out of bed and read books and later, when the lights are out, get a cuddle from him before she falls asleep. If he’s not in the room, she is very clear that she needs him to be there with us sitting in the rocking chair.

For those out there that are of the “nip it in the bud” mentality and “what will you do when…” way of thinking, all I have to say is that you aren’t here. Live a little, folks. These babies won’t be babies forever so don’t spend energy thinking about strategies to get your kids to start or stop things that others think they shouldn’t be doing.

Note: As I type this, BB is on the floor of the kitchen transfering applesauce from one container to the next. When the last one is empty she announces, “dirty” and puts it in the sink. I could be thinking, “she’ll never learn that you only eat out of one dish” and then what? If I had worried: “She’ll never learn that you need to wear clothes to fit into society” she might have taken longer to walk over to the potty and sit herself down to pee. Not to mention her self-esteem. Can we ever know what their need to do something is? We just assume.

§ 2 Responses to How I get two babies to sleep

  • Isil says:

    Leila, need I say that I love your attitude very much. I didn’t feel that I was ready for another baby,only recently I started thinking that I can perhaps manage it,should we decide on having another one.
    Another mum I know from toddler groups had her 2nd one when the 1st baby was 13 months old. She was considering how she’d let the 2nd one CIO to sleep train her thinking the 1st one would wake up!!
    I really appreciate you and wish that my blogging fellows lived closer.

  • I am also very impressed at your attitude! And your two darlings, you’ll have us all broody at this stage!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How I get two babies to sleep at bilingual baby.

meta

