A lotus birth and numerical satisfaction

October 10, 2008 § 3 Comments

I labored with M at home and delivered at home with a midwife. After the 3ish hour labor (from 4/5 cms to finish), we asked that his umbilical cord be left to fall off by itself. This is called a Lotus birth.

In this picture, you can see his umbilical cord still attached- coming out of the right side of the blanket. If you’re interested in reading more on Lotus Birth click here or here. After 5 days, we called our midwife to cut the cord. At that point, it was a lot tougher to cut than at an hour after birth (which is when we took the photo above). I didn’t think I’d have such a strong reaction to cutting the seemingly dried up cord, but I cried. My midwife left us alone for a bit then came back and said, “This is why I love you.” I guess with a little more time to contemplate the cord, the placenta and my baby and me, it became more a part of our identity. So, although M was born on August 30th, he “landed” 5 days later. After cutting his cord, he seemed more present than he had before. It was amazing to see a difference in a baby so young.

A big thank you, both to the online and the IRL crowd, for not saying anything about the dates I had “predicted” baby 2.0’s arrival. I did achieve numerical satisfaction in a far more meaningful way than I had thought. My birthday is on August 3rd (my favorite number: I have 3 sisters, I graduated 3rd in my high school class… it’s a great number. period.) and so when my son was born on the 30th you can see why I had a big ah-ha moment. How could I have missed that big link! He’s also beginning to look like me, or so I’m told.

He also has my hands.

To finish off this post, enjoy bilingual baby cleaning the sink… with lots of water.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to A lotus birth and numerical satisfaction

  • Isil says:

    I had noticed the cord when you first posted it,though I thought it’s just moments after birth.I have just learned about Lotus Birth.There’s an article about it in the latest issue of The Mother magazine.It’s really interesting.

  • I’ll admit to not being as observant as Isil! It sounds like M has had a wonderful, gentle introduction to the world, you sound so happy too šŸ™‚ And BB is so cute cleaning the sink, so big!

  • birthsong says:

    thanks for sharing. I am having a lotus birth with my baby. He is my 4th baby, but 1st baby that will be lotus born, and am feeling very full and nourished by the idea.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A lotus birth and numerical satisfaction at bilingual baby.

meta

