Blessingway

August 18, 2008 § 1 Comment

This weekend my close friends gathered at my home for my blessingway. It was something I won’t forget. I almost can’t remember what was said, but the feeling that I’m taking away from it is of complete support. They brought over food (some will get frozen for the postpartum period) and each one shared with me sincere words of advice as they lit a candle. Instead of a gift they put out a contribution bag and helped me pay for another day with our postpartum doula.

It was quiet (and not just because there were no kids). It was charged with energy in a way I hadn’t felt before. I didn’t know I would want something like this until this weekend and I think every woman would benefit from this gathering of women who play the role of support before, during and after the transition into motherhood.

Quite different from a baby shower, it wasn’t busy. There just seemed to be time. Time to sit and stare. Time to speak. Time to wait. Time to breathe. And in a time when most women turn inward in preparation for birthing, a blessingway creates the appropriate space to continue the opening of your heart and body.

It can be anything you want it to be. I got a foot massage and a neck rub, ate, had some readings which were followed by the sharing. It was simple but full, all in one.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Blessingway

  • halfpintpixie says:

    That sounds so beautiful and so supportive. I would have loved a blessingway when I was pregant with LP, but didn’t know very many women then! Perhaps I’ll get a chance in a few years to have one when our next bundle is on the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blessingway at bilingual baby.

meta

