Babywearing group

August 14, 2008 § 5 Comments

I just started a Babywearing group for Central Vermont and we had our first meeting yesterday at the Kellogg-Hubbard library. The turn out was great. There were 5 moms plus kids and we all got to chat and try on carriers. I brought the carriers we own plus a sarong that works well for shoulder-less carries. One mom got to try on an Ergo before going to pick hers up, getting tips from another mom. One of my friends got to try on one of the Mei Tai’s I made and borrowed it for a while. She seemed to like how it felt, so that’s exciting. I even got to put a 3 month old baby on my back and get a high back carry going. The little baby just melted on my back. Such a sweet, juicy feeling.

Bilingual baby was also a good sport (as usual), getting up on my back so I could demo different carriers, but then again she loves being worn. She actually must have made babywearing seem like so much fun; she kept getting on my back and giggling. I’m also finding that she prefers to be carried rather than strolled. Probably because she’s just so young (IMO) to be in a stroller… and she knows what’s coming. She’s so in tune, it’s amazing. She’s been nursing more and more and, like I said, prefers a carrier to a stroller. She’s light enough and I seem to be sturdy enough that wearing her in town doesn’t put any pressure on my body.

I’ve also been using the Mei Tai that I got for Naw-Ruz (my first ever present on this Baha’i Holy day). I tie both ties above my belly and it’s actually really comfortable.

§ 5 Responses to Babywearing group

  • lacey says:

    I’m starting to think that good shoes make for a good babywearing experience. I used to get sore hips from wearing baby but since I got some proper walking sandals, no problems.

  • Leila says:

    I was just thinking about good shoes and babywearing… especially after a good walk with my new(ish) Keen’s and bilingual baby on my back. Makes a difference.

  • Susie says:

    Hooray for babywearing groups! I hope you will become an Official Celebrating Organization for International Babywearing Week. šŸ™‚

  • Leila says:

    Susie, that’s a great idea. November is just around the corner!

  • Jessica says:

    Hi, This is the mama who tried out the Ergo at the meet-up. It was nice having the chance to try it out before shelling out the $$$. I love it and have been using it with my four week old and 2 yr old and its great. I love carrying my babies around. Thanks for starting the group and hope to be able to attend again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Babywearing group at bilingual baby.

meta

