Time Bank

June 17, 2008 § 2 Comments

I have a friend who has recruited me for the Onion River Exchange. It’s a network of people who request and offer services from each other. One of the reasons I signed up for it is because one hour of work equals one hour of work, regardless of the work. It works as a time bank. So, for every hour you help someone else, you can ask for help from somebody else. The way the Times Argus puts it, “A time bank is a network of individuals who provide their skills or services to earn community credits, which they can exchange for the skills and services of others.” It’s fairly new here in town but is quickly catching on. Another nice thing is that you can waive your member donation ($25/individual or $40/household) by volunteering 2 hours of time. This should make everyone feel included! Love it!

Click here to find the Onion River Exchange and sign up… or to look for a time bank in your area. Someone in your area may have already started one! It’s just time.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Time Bank

  • Megan says:

    Ohh I like this.
    I’ve been feeling a little bit like doing somthing like this. We’ve a few stressed Mum’s around and I’m just waiting till my parents get home so we can put up a fence in our yard…then I’d like to have some other kids over so their Mum’s can put up their feet…
    I can see this working in so many areas…I wonder what my comunity would think of it…I’ll give it ago.
    Thanks
    love
    m

  • Leila says:

    I’m excited. I just replied to a couple of requests. I’ll post what happens. If you start one up, let me know!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time Bank at bilingual baby.

meta

