A toddler’s creativity

February 18, 2008 § 2 Comments

Bilingual baby likes to get up on the dining room chair and stand there scribbling on paper with whatever she can get her hands on. She must notice that we write with pens, so she wants to do it, too. We’ve got one crayon. I can’t seem to find a small tin of crayons I bought a long time ago. They’re somewhere. I’m sure. Luckily, she’s okay with one crayon. It has been suggested that we get her chuncky crayons but of course, being me, I can’t just go out and buy her any crayons. I have to look into what’s in the crayons. Is it toxic? If there’s paper on the crayon, is the ink toxic (probably)? Has the paper been bleached or is it unbleached?

I have found some great crayons. They’re the kind that Waldorf schools use. They’re beeswax block crayons by Stockmar. Go figure Amazon carries them. The nice thing I’ve heard from friends about the blockiness of the crayon is that they are easier to hold and there’s no paper. They are also said to last forever so even if they cost a little extra you won’t find pieces lying around your house.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to A toddler’s creativity

  • Isil says:

    Since toddlers put everything in their mouth, most crayons are non-toxic.I also wanted to buy for D. but seeing that they are not recommended for under 36 month olds, I changed my mind. Instead we bought her a scribbler http://www.elc.co.uk/toy-42140
    This is for 18 month olds, D. is almost 14 yet, can’t do it properly but she’s getting the hang of it.However she still wants the pens 😉

  • Leila says:

    Isil,

    I had the same doubts about giving her crayons but my mom said it should be fine. We still haven’t gotten her anything. soon, perhaps.

    Thanks for the idea. The scribbler looks like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A toddler’s creativity at bilingual baby.

meta

