The days are short

January 31, 2008 § Leave a comment

The Happiness Project posted a short internet movie titled The Years are Short I’d like to share with you. Here’s what Gretchen had to say in her post:

I hesitated to do this movie. Then I remembered all my resolutions: “Push myself,” “Try something new,” and “Enjoy the fun of failure” (well, actually, I hope that one won’t come into play).

I remembered my Secret of Adulthood: “It’s okay to ask for help.”

As always, novelty and challenge can be intimidating — but, just as the happiness researchers tell us, they give big boosts of happiness. Now that the movie is finished and out in the world, I’m very happy, even though I felt frustrated and anxious at various times along the way.

The fact is, whenever I stick to my happiness resolutions, I do make myself happier. I remind myself of that every day.

The story is a true story about something that happened to me as a parent. The title, The Years Are Short, comes from the phrase that I constantly invoke: The days are long, but the years are short.

Watch it as soon as you can.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The days are short at bilingual baby.

meta

