Squirrels

January 14, 2008 § 4 Comments

For some reason, as bilingual baby was falling asleep last night, I thought of my Uncle Jack (actually, he was my mum’s uncle, so he’s in fact my great uncle…). I couldn’t get out of my head the fact that he loved watching the squirrels in the backyard of his house and how now I wished I had a video of squirrels to watch.

I didn’t know my Uncle Jack until I was in my last year of highschool. I mean, I had met him and knew about him but it was during undergrad and while living and working in Portland, OR that I really got to know him- and even then, he was always so interested in what I had to say that his own stories would get sidetracked. We’d write letters back and forth and talked on the phone quite a bit; and he’d always tell me some funny thing the squirrels had done that day. I enjoyed getting his letters and catching up with him while I was on tour for a theatre company I worked with. He was an avid traveler and there I was seeing parts of the Pacific Northwest I had never seen- living life for him, in a way. I’d always tell him what amazing sight I had seen or some new story from my tour.

And, now, all of a sudden I am having thoughts of my Uncle Jack. The man who I knew loved squirrels, didn’t like to eat much, and thought he was “dumb” for falling off of his bike at 79 years old. He was quiet and loved to read in this one chair. He was uncomplicated.

I love you Uncle Jack.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Squirrels

  • susan says:

    Uncomplicated is good. I’m married to someone like that. I love your Uncle Jack too. thanks for introducing us.

  • Just Plain John says:

    Simple things….simple lives….simple pleasures – living into the reality of the live of someone you love…..animals in nature…..moments shared together…..the beauty in everyday things; an everchanging pile of snow, the vulnerability of a wild flower, the endurance of a craggy granite outcropping, the dexterity of a childs hand, the simplicity of the uncle Jacks in our lives. Simply beautiful. Simply life.

  • +mojan. says:

    Sounds like a great guy.

  • Leila says:

    Susan, you would have gotten along with him really well- just like my mom!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Squirrels at bilingual baby.

meta

