Baby 2.0

January 8, 2008 § 3 Comments

Knowing that this pregnancy will never be like my first, I need to be in the moment, peaceful, serene, and have started back on my daily dose of the hypnobirthing cd. I’ve also started reading some of the books on pregnancy that I never got to last time. One in particular is Birthing from within. While I enjoy reading about the history of birth, stories of births and the politics of birth, Birthing from within tackles the emotions of pregnancy and childbirth. Now that I know more or less how pregnancy goes and I know I can push a baby out (and will probably do so much quicker than last time- it’s a fact) I’m focusing more on my need to be calm- this was also one of my aims with my last pregnancy. Most of my anxiety (as far as I can tell now) is related to the postpartum period. I need it to be something it wasn’t last time. I’m not having any anxiety about being able to love another child. Bilingual papi and I are on the same page on that one. With bilingual baby we found that when you have a child your capacity to love increases; much more so with a second and subsequent children. My anxiety is with the mothering I’ll receive. One of the midwives we’ve interviewed (more on that later) said that our area is replete with organizations and people who purpose themselves to help mothers postpartum.

One of these organizations (and I can’t believe it) is Blue Cross Blue Shield. They have a program called Better Beginnings that, according to their site, includes a nurse and homemaker assistance. The nurse comes by to check up on you and the baby at your home and the homemaker assistant will do light cleaning, cooking, etc.

Then, there’s Good Beginnings– yeah, they all start to sound like the same thing. I’ve heard from friends that someone visits your home to help you out with household chores or whatever else you want.

Besides these two, I’m sure the midwives we choose will help us get to know others. The midwives we interviewed yesterday would also do 3 postpartum home visits (or more, if I needed them), so there’s that.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Baby 2.0

  • Leila, Congratulations 🙂 I hope everything goes well for you! Those postpartum help organisations sound great, I would have loved to have someone do my housework!!

  • +mojan. says:

    I can’t believe you already have a second on its way, and I haven’t even met the first! Congratulations, dearie. I look forward to reading your thoughts on pregnancy the second-time around.

  • Leila says:

    Halfpintpixie- Thank you for the well wishes. No kidding. I’ll definitely fill you in on how it all turns out with the pp support.

    Mojan- Yah. By the time we get them together, they’ll be going to high school. haha.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby 2.0 at bilingual baby.

meta

