1 am

November 25, 2007 § 4 Comments

We’ve been staying up till 1 am with bilingual baby who hasn’t been tired until then. I have to say that I’m really feeling the seduction of sleep training and crying it out methods. It’s only been two nights so far so I think I really have to give it some more time. But here I am, it’s not even 9pm and I’m totally wiped. It isn’t helping that I feel a cold coming on. It started in my throat and has now morphed into a neck ache.

It’s hard to let your baby know, that late in the day, that you are still happy to see them. It’s tempting to say, “Okay, it’s time to go to bed now” with that tone of “I’m really serious this time”. I know bilingual papi is feeling the burn and the potential of having a night like one of these and then having to go to work the next morning. I don’t have that concern, so perhaps that’s why I’m still questioning the sleep control techniques.

I don’t want to try to control her sleep patterns. I can’t say what I’ll do when she’s older because I just don’t know what’ll happen then and I’d rather cross that bridge when I get to it. We checked the Dr. Sears Baby book last night and I’m truly disappointed.

We agree with the majority of the stuff the Sears clan has to say about raising children but we don’t agree with some of the tactics they suggest using when your baby won’t fall asleep. For the most part, the Sears bunch seem so thoughtful in their parenting choices. One of the suggestions they gave for a child that wanted to play in the middle of the night was to “play dead” and to ignore the child. They’re sure that the child will lose interest. They talk about asserting yourself as the adult in charge.

My gut instinct says I can’t bring myself to do that, even if it means that I’m wiped the next day. I know that I’ll be taking bilingual baby downstairs to be with her if she can’t fall asleep when her papi has to work early the next day and that doesn’t bother me. See, when she’d look ready to fall asleep or I thought it might be a good time to try to encourage sleep, I’d put her in the Ergo but she’d just start wailing. Very unlike her. (So, I figure it’s teeth and her learning to walk.) Eventually, after reading books and walking around with her (around 1 am) she gets that look in her eye (but doesn’t yawn- weird) and I put her in the Ergo and she’s out in a couple of minutes while nursing.

It’s just so frustrating to feel the pressure to get her to bed by people that aren’t even in the room! I feel like I’ll get people telling me that she’s manipulating me and that I’ve got to put my foot down to set a precedent.

We’re going to try a warm bath at 9:30 pm, read some books and see what happens. However, if she doesn’t want to fall asleep until 1 am than I’d rather live with that than ignore her and give off the message that I don’t love her when she’s up late. Tricky but I think it’ll pay off in the long run.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to 1 am

  • Isil says:

    I like the way you’re writing your thoughts,just like mine,though I can’t write as well as you.

  • +mojan. says:

    I know I’ll be dealing with baby sleep issues very soon, but it’s too abstract in my mind to think about how I would handle the situation you’re in. Although, I think “playing dead” would be the final resort — one that I’d only act on if I were ridiculously tired and desperate!

  • susan says:

    It makes me so happy that you do research, consult the experts, then run with your gut feeling. When it is time to help Julieta make a change, you’ll know!!

  • Nancy says:

    playing dead doesnt work, anyways.
    not that we tried pretending to be dead, but we tried to pretend we were still asleep…lasted a minute or two.
    we had a nightowl with our first, who often stayed up till midnight or one am. I adjusted (I am a nightowl, so it wasnt too bad for me) and DH just went to bed when he was tired. Eventually when Zibby was old enough to stop napping, her sleep schedule changed and now its more convenient for us…but we still try to honor everyones natural tendencies. I still stay up later than everyone, now its with an infant asleep in the sling 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1 am at bilingual baby.

meta

