Combining Toys

January 11, 2012 § 3 Comments

My kids were working together on something. I walked away after seeing this started. I was really excited to see where they took it. I also provided some green fabric for their cause.

After a bit of time, I got called back into the living room to see their work. Look what they made!

It reminds me of the I Spy books. See how many objects you can find!

This is how my kids play. After they’ve exhausted the play of a toy, it gets sucked in with all the other toys in an order I don’t pretend to understand.

There is order to their madness and it’s exciting. Don’t you dare move any part of their collage. It’s all part of a puzzle.

One of their new toys is a dollhouse that you can change into anything you want. It can start as a house then transform into a spaceship or a shelter like you can see in the picture above. After I took this picture, it became the home of two little fairies with beautiful fabric from my daughter’s sewing basket for rugs.

The one thing I suggested was to use the fabric letters my mom made for the kids a couple of years ago. They put them under some of the fabric to create mountains in their landscape.

After seeing the way that they played with their toys, I am eager to make some peg people for their little world. They could also use some miniature furniture. As soon as I can, I’m going to make my way to a craft store and investigate the woodworking area to see what I can create for them. Plus, with Ayyam-i-Ha coming soon, I have some tangible ideas for gifts for them.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Combining Toys

  • StephC says:

    I remember doing things like that as a kid! Do you ever set up those weird machines- the ones where you tip over a domino and it hits something else, a ball rolls through a paper towel tube, etc and you end up with this big elaborate “machine” that does a very small household task like turning on a light… Ack I can’t remember what they’re called.

    Very cool. :)

  • Omma says:

    Wonderful stuff! My kids sometimes line up all their toys in colour order, or into market stalls. Keeps them busy for hours and so much more stimulating than TV ;-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Combining Toys at bilingual baby.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

