The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 5

November 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today we’re attaching the yoke and sleeves, Steps 14-25.

We’re more than half way done! However, today is the big day. Today you’ll be doing the trickiest part. Only because we’ll be sewing around some tight corners. After this, you’re pretty much home free.

As you can see above, it’s pretty straight forward. Back of the neck, sewn; sleeves, sewn. Move on.

This was the trickiest part for me. You just have to take it slow, especially around the curves and especially if you’re going to sew over the pins. I’m not a huge fan of sewing over pins. I think my stitches get all wonky but it does help keep things together. If you want perfection, pin first, then hand baste, take out the pins, machine stitch and take out the basting.

Me? I pin and machine stitch. I hope the pictures help.

Again, a tricky part because you’re sandwiching the outer yoke/sleeve with the body and the yoke/sleeve lining. If you have a doubt about how it should look, baste your layers together, just in case.

Here you see Step 21, or at least the clipping of the yoke seam around the curve. Now to the part I did differently. Instead of following Steps 23 and 25 (I did follow Step 24) for the sleeve, I decided to make my own bias binding out of my print fabric. It turned out rather narrow and looks like piping, if you ask me, and I almost remade my bias tape, but decided I liked it.

Here is a great tutorial for how to make bias binding that Sarai, owner and designer of Colette Patterns, put up on her blog. I agree with her that making your own bias binding is one of the coolest things you can do and it adds a touch that store bought binding just can’t provide.

Now that we got through this yoke bit, I think we can relax a little. They are calling this an advanced pattern, after all.

Come back tomorrow to form and attach the collar and see another mistake I made.

A special thank you to Blue Cricket Designs for the tutorial on how to make your own basic photo collages using Picnik. See, I did it!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 5

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Henry Shirt Sew Along – Day 5 at bilingual baby.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

